Dear,

Good talking to you today. I was crying hard when you called but kept it together for you. Funny thing is that you have made me stronger, I think. I felt so much better after talking to you. Loss ain’t easy and I pity the family that lost their loved one’s physical presence permanently. Having lost a loved one permanently, I know it is bitterly painful but I am finding it is more painful to have a loved one still be alive and always in pain, always being punished for years. Interestingly enough, saw a poll on a forum for families with incarcerated loved ones where the poll asked how many people had loved ones in prison because of drugs or alcohol. 91.35 percent of responders said that Yes, their loved one was incarcerated because of drugs or alcohol. Really makes me wonder if we had better treatment for substance abuse, better sociocultural portrayals of alcohol use in our movies and advertisements and on television– wouldn’t that percentage go down??? Hard to think how many people must be suffering in this country over either having lost their loved one’s presence permanently or temporarily around alcohol and drugs. I’m sadd, sadd and madd madd. I want to do something about this is in my life!!!! I want to help make a change!!! I’M PROUD THAT YOU DO TOO. Let’s make the world a better place with less pain in it!!

May God keep you safe and well and give you back to us as soon as possible.

Love,

O

P.S. Here’s what I’ve found

From http://www.assatashakur.org/forum/our-prisoners-war-pow/28460-writing-letter-parole-board-family-member-close-friend.html

Quote Originally Posted by Guinan View Post
http://www.associatedcontent.com/art…le.html?page=2Below is an example of a letter you could write on behalf of a prisoner you are close to. I will research and post one for political prisoners, etc in the near future.

Date

In regards to: John Q. Inmate
DOC#0123456789
123 Jailhouse Lane
Prison City, Any State 12345

Honorable Members of the Parole Board
Any State Board of Pardons and Parole
555 Parole Board Avenue
PB City, Any State 12345

Dear Honorable Members of the Parole Board:

My name is Sue Friendly. I am 34 years old and have been a Librarian for the Little City Library for 15 years. I am the sister of John Q. Inmate DOC#0123456789.

Since being incarcerated, John has completed his G.E.D. and gone on to start college courses in Information Technology. He has graduated with honors from Behavioral Health courses, and always has a positive attitude when we visit or talk on the phone. He takes full responsibility for the actions that led to his incarceration, and shows considerable remorse.

My husband and I are more than willing to provide John with every aspect of support, guidance, accountability and love. The job market in Little City is booming. My husband can offer him direct employment at the carrot canning factory upon John being granted parole. We also have an extra car that he can use until he has saved enough to purchase his own vehicle.

I believe beyond a doubt that given the opportunity of parole, John will come home and make us all proud. Thank you for your time and attention.

Sincerely,

Susan B. Friendly

