Dear Babe,

 

So good talking to you today.

Regarding the guard not letting you eat because you couldn’t hear him calling count:

You have to know these are terms “society” has set up for you to pay a debt for the life of someone who no longer exists. That is what you must remember. & it is not personal. They are simply terms. Thinking of it as debt makes the insensibilities of the torture you are experiencing there make sense. Because they don’t know you. They only know your number and your crime. It is not about you.

(I’m thinking also, sometimes it’s not about me. It’s about someone else.)

But now my babe, I’m realizing something grand– oh I shall have to tell you– this means that we still have a debtor’s prison in the United States. We didn’t do away with it. Oh dear oh dear.

 

All

my

love,

O

